Is distracted driving really that dangerous? Since 2010 the use of a cell phone to send any kind of electronic message has been banned in the state of Massachusetts. Drivers could now face fines from $100 for a first offense to $500 for a repeated offense. This has forced many drivers to reexamine their driving habits and how much they tried to multi-task while on the road. However, there is more at risk if we drive distracted then just paying a fine.
Many studies on distracted driving have been conducted, which has led numerous states to place laws on the use of cell phones and other devices while driving. In one study conducted by Car and Driver magazine the reaction times of individuals sending texts, reading texts, and intoxicated were compared. The results were shocking.
- An unimpaired individual took .54 seconds to brake.
- If someone was legally drunk: add 4 feet to the stop time.
- Reading a text or email: add 36 feet to the stop time.
- Sending a text: add 70 feet to the stop time.
In 2012 a tragic car accident in Massachusetts left one individual dead, another injured physically and emotionally. What was the cause of this crash? The other driver was found to be texting and distracted while driving, which caused him to swerve across the road and crash head on into the oncoming car. The driver was sentenced to two years in prison and loss of his license for the next 15 years. He was 18 years old at the time of his sentencing.
At the time of the trial David Teater, senior director of transportation initiative at the National Safety Council said about this case, “Clearly, being distracted is an extremely deadly thing that’s going on in this country and people need to understand that they just can’t do it.”
Below are more stories of the dangers of distracted driving.
If you have been involved in an auto accident caused by distracted driving, the Attorneys at Wynn and Wynn are prepared to assist you in this matter. Call us today at 1-800-852-5211 or click here to schedule a consultation.